Booty round up 25/05/2014 – 01/06/2014

I had high hopes for the bank holiday weekend, but only managed to make it to a couple of sales on the Sunday, as everything other than the local sale was rained off on the Monday 😦

Rusper – 25/05/2014

This was about the quietest I’ve seen Rusper, possibly due to the uncertain weather forecast or perhaps – as one of the stallholders suggested – people were waiting for the Monday.

I didn’t get any tools at all, as there was nothing of any quality or interest by the time I got there around 1pm, but my daughters did quite well, with toys including a wooden postbox & letters and Winnie the Pooh, Eeyore and Tigger cuddly toys!

  • Admission: £1 (1 car with 2 adults, 2 children)
  • Total tool spend: £0
  • Total other spend: £8
  • Grand total: £9

Local sale – 26/05/2014

The local sale was probably the quietest I’ve ever seen it, and we got there just as it started raining.

  • Assorted tools – £3

Back holiday booty

My haul all came from a single stall and consisted of:

  • a small pair of tin snips
  • some 4″ nails
  • a 9/16″ “Comet” drill bit
  • a socket set ranging from 1/2″ to 13/16″
  • a replaceable faced mallet (with no faces)

(Other than the Nobex mitre saw these are probably some of my best finds from this sale).

My other two purchases were a book for me and rather a nice Lego Duplo Digger for my youngest daughter.

  •  Admission: Free (donation to charity made)
  • Total tool spend: £3
  • Total other spend: £3.50
  • Grand total: £6.50

Pease Pottage – 01/06/2014

Yesterday’s sale was also a quiet one, with probably 2 aisles unoccupied despite good weather.

Once again I found no tools of interest, but my eldest daughter did ok, with a small Sylvanian Families house and some Mr Men books.

The regular tool seller was there with some nice planes, but I don’t need any more of the sizes he had.

  • Admission: 50p (1 adult)
  • Total tool spend: £0
  • Total other spend: £8
  • Grand total: £8.50

Summary

You’d think I’d be a bit disappointed with so little success, but I’m actually quite pleased to have spent so little money!

We may extend the house next year and we’ll need all the money we can get then.

I’ve hopefully transitioned from my “ooh a tool – must buy it” phase into one where I make wiser (and less frequent) purchases 🙂

This entry was posted in Car booty, Local, Metal working, Pease Pottage, Rusper, Tools, Wood working and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

